Ask the quiet ones…

I wanted to quickly expound on something I wrote in my last post, where I said that I didn’t think I had very much to say.

This is actually a bit of a theme with me. I never really think I have much to say on a subject, until someone asks me a question, and which point I’ll talk about it, sometimes even with a certain level of authority, for two hours.

You’ve got the quiet ones in your lodge. The “I’m just happy to be here” brothers who tend not to raise their hands. They’re good listeners. Maybe not quick to volunteer ideas, but often the first to volunteer their time.

Ask them questions. During dinner, one night, ask them their opinion on an issue, masonic or not. You might find a hidden treasure trove of deep thoughts. Some people need to talk to think. Other people need to listen.

2 thoughts on “Ask the quiet ones…

Leave a Reply

